My First Concert – Do you remember your first time?

My First Concert

The Les Humphries Singers AlbumI remember when I was young, about 10 years old. Now growing up in the early 70s in a small German town my siblings and I were excited to hear that “The Les Humphries Singers” were in the same town my older sister lived in about 15 miles away from my hometown, we visited that sunny Sunday afternoon.

My parents did not have any money for us to attend, so we just walked down to see if we could get a glimpse of the very popular group. The concert was in an oversized tent, if you have ever been to the Oktoberfest in Munich, you know what I’m talking about. The tent was only half the size of a tent at the Oktoberfest. As the group got off their tour bus walking past me, people were cheering and kids were screaming.

Well, the officials closed the tent and all you hear is them singing their songs. My brothers and I were trying to look through the holes in the tent, when suddenly a man came up and asked us if we would like to see it? Yes, we would like to but we don’t have any money. To our surprise, this gentleman, just let us in. We inched our way to the front of the stage and there they were, singing songs like “We’ll Fly You to the Promised Land”,  “Kansas City” and “Mexico”, dancing right in front of me – up close and personal! Unforgettable to this day!

Now, as you think back it seems funny when you shop for clothing you find the style of clothing that you wore in the 70s – perhaps at your First Concert?

Leave a Reply

